North Sea Jazz: In Visitor, Out Artist!


Picture made by Paul Bergen

I had the most amazing time yesterday. Finally went to the North Sea Jazz festival and it just blew my mind away. I wish it wasn’t over yet and now all I can do is wait until next year where I’ll definitely be at, I know that already! I can get into details, but I think I’ll keep this post short… Alicia Keys was the first performance we went to and it was soooo damn good I can cry. I finally got to see her perform live and what a show it was!! She sang so beautifully, with so much soul and power, she made me love her even more. I heard some people say the show was crap, I don’t know what the hell they were talking about obviously they weren’t hearing what we heard. Saw some improv’ jazz, which was pretty cool. Antonio Sanchez was really soothing to listen to. Gnarls Barkley rocked the house, the band was real good and Cee-Lo’s voice is soooo crazy, crazy in a good amazing way of course! He’s so effortlessly cool, I love the dude. Also went to see Youssou N’Dour, but not too long after the show began I started feeling sick so I went to the bathroom and since then I felt so crappy, it stayed that way the rest of the evening. While I was walking out of the bathroom, which was next to the backstage entrance, I saw this guy walking out of there who spotted me apparently and started a conversation with me. Next thing you know I saw my girl Deejay and her boo Arsenio, who both snuck their way into the NSJ festival (AGAIN!) and even managed to get backstage passes. Then the guy gives me an artist pass as well, he was in Gnarls Barkely’s band, we ended up backstage meeting Gnarls Barkley and the rest of the band. Sat there, ate, drank, chilled, got to peep inside their 3 tour busses which looked super dope. Anyway it was real fun meeting the band, they even wanted me to join them on their tour but of course I wasn’t going to do that, I ain’t crazy. So yeah, the rest of the evening I chilled with my friends and the band. Then I went back to my fam who were checking out some other bands and together we went to see our last show which was Mark Ronson. We didn’t stay there for too long, but it sounded good. Then we had a late bite at the Japanese food corner, which was super cute cause the food was served on this moving table and you could just take what you wanted went it rolled by. After that I quickly went backstage to get us a couple of drinks, I got to profit from that pass of course! And then it was time to go home… To make a long story short, I had an unforgettable time and really don’t know how me and my girl Deejay manage to end up being so lucky and ending up meeting the artists and all that, but it was cool though! I guess the post did end up a bit long, but now I’m seriously going to stop cause i’m s-e-r-i-o-u-s-l-y sick! Have a good evening y’all. A few pictures under the cut…

4 comments

  1. Girl..Ur always so lucky..Haha..I’ll keep this post short.

  2. Liena-lie

    ooooooh noooo she didn’t!
    yeah she did!
    ..she did it freakin’ AGAIN!!

  3. Deejay

    We did it, we did it oh yeah yeah yeahh !!
    Hahahaha, loved enjoyin NSJ together with u!
    Till tuesday right?! Be at the airport okay!

    X Dee & Arsenio

  4. Chanel

    Oh my god!
    you did not!
    but yes you did it again!!
    you lucky one!

Leave a Reply

