Who’s Who & What It Do: With Dope Couture

The past few Who’s Who & What It Do’s came quite fast after each other, also the 7th WWW with Matt from Dope Couture. But that doesn’t make it any less interesting, right? I spotted Dope Couture while browsing the net, and digged it right away! There are so many t-shirt brands out there right now, but Dope Couture stood out to me. A few of my favs for the ladies from their collection is the Thyves shirt, the Eazy E shirt, Dope & Co, Smoke Me I’m Dope and Riello. Its obvious to see the inspirations behind a few of the shirts and I must say that Matt and Chris have used them very well to make a dope looking Spring/Summer collection. Enough talking, let Matt tell you a little something about Dope Couture. Enjoy!  

Who’s who and what it do?
What up M.N.A. Hello world, I’m Matt Fields and I am the founder/owner/creative director of Dope Couture. We are a clothing line from the midwest region in the United States.

When was your baby Dope Couture born and why the name Dope Couture?
I started the line almost two years ago. I didn’t really put out a full line until second season. Dope Couture Summer 2008 is our third season and we expanded by adding women’s tees.

When you conceived Dope Couture how did you intend to communicate the essence of the brand and how effective have your methods been?
Initially, I intended on just making tee shirts that would clearly and effectively communicate our brand’s message. With that being said, I also chose a name that makes our brand image pretty clear.

What makes Dope Couture stand out from the other brands out there?
I think that there are a lot of brands out right now and standing out is harder than ever. Cut and sew is what truly separates brands in my opinion. Proving yourself in cut and sew apparel is what you have to do to stand out when the majority of your product releases are tees.

Describe Dope Couture in 3 words:
Way More Dapper

I see that the brand is for both men and women. Who do you prefer designing for and why?
I think Chris and I agree that designing for women is more exciting. Chris is our head graphic designer along with myself. To be more specific, Chris loves designing women’s tees while I prefer the cut and sew for men, which hasn’t been released.

Which item from the Dope Couture collection are you the most proud of?
I would tell you but that would ruin the surprise.

Now Dope Couture only exists of t-shirts, what else would you like to make (in the future) to expand the Dope Couture collection?
I would like to make everything from headwear to footwear. However, it just isn’t that simple. The stars must be in line. If I am lucky, I will be able to design for years to come, but only time will tell.

In the spring/summer collection I can see that you have been inspired by the late YSL, Tiffany & Co and Anthony Riello. Which inspirations can we expect in the next collection?
I won’t give it all away but some of the inspiration for next season came from Goyard, Hermes, YSL, and Christian Louboutin.

Who (e.g. celebs) would you most like to see rocking Dope Couture?
The ones who can dress.

How has the publics response to Dope Couture been?
In general, I think there are a lot of people who are responding in a very positive way. A lot of lovers but there are always haters.

If you could make 3 wishes, what would they be?
I would wish for wealth, health, and success.

If there were a Dope Couture wonderland what kind of world would that be?
It would probably look like Marc Ecko’s office.

Frequently on the blog I post a Daily Throwback, cool songs from back in the day. Do you have any requests?
Grand Puba – I like It

Have you ever been to Amsterdam? If you would come visit us some time soon, what is the first thing you would like to do?
I’ve never been. I would probably hit the De Negen Straatjes and find a relaxing café.

Who’s your hero?
Lil Wayne. Anyone that can be on his regime of drugs and alcohol and still put out insanely creative verses gets my applause.

What keeps you going?
Probably ignorance.

What else can we expect from Dope Couture in the future?
Amongst our Fall drop there will be a special collaboration with an Italian leather goods company.


Matt & Chris

Where can we buy Dope Couture?
You can find Dope Couture at select retailers and online at http://www.dopecouture.com.

Last but not least, what do you find notoriously addictive?
I would have to say women, Las Vegas, designer sneakers that I can’t afford.

Also check out their myspace: www.myspace.com/dopecouture and stay in touch!

4 comments

  1. BJ

    I heard about Dope on the Elitaste blog and I’m really feeling the mens line. I like how each tee is thought out and has a concept for each which make the graphics stronger cause honestly most tees are boring but these are really nice and your hard work shows in the presentation! Dope- The Way Life Should Be!!

  2. Kay Nolan

    Great picture of you and Chris. Are you writing this? Remember, if you are listing items a comma should exist such as red, black, and blue. There is a school of thought on whether or not a comma should be placed before the “and” and it should. Thanks for sharing this. Love, Your Mother.

  3. Pingback: Notorious Throwback : Grand Puba - I Like It « Ms. Notoriously Addictive

  4. JjL

    this shit is hot! the spring line we just picked up is looking good. I can’t wait to move this shit and bring in more! keep it coming!
    Coloradoboarder.com

Leave a Reply

