R.I.P. Percy Irausquin

I am in total shock and actually hoping this isn’t true! Percy Irausquin was found dead in his bathroom today. Apparently the Dutch designer of Aruban heritage had slipped in his bathroom. He was only 39. Just a couple of hours ago I was reading an article about him at my grandmother’s house and now he is gone? This is so surreal to me. He was such a talented designer and definitely had a spot between my favourites. The Dutch have lost not only an amazing designer, but person. His clothing made the woman sexy, glamorous and above all elegant. In 2001 he won the Frans Molenaar prize. He produced a couture collection, a prêt-á-porter line and recently showed his 2009 summer collection at the Amsterdam Fashion Week. He will be missed in fashion and mostly as a wonderful individual.

2 comments

  1. Sad enough it is true? I still can’t believe it either. I’ve made a thread on the Fashion Forum of Style.com to honour him. So far only one sweet person reacted and posted this message from your blog. I thank her for being so attentive.
    I still can’t believe its true….I kept watching tv, even Showniews, the daily Dutch news hoping it was just a rumour while I knew it wasn’t….For sure he will missed in the Dutch fashion world and above all because Percy was such an adoreable nice man. Why do always the good ones go so early, so young?
    What a sad news. I’m still upset about it.

    Love and strenght to all Percy’s loved ones. What a shock!

  2. Dan Galek

    I only knew percy for a short while he was a wonderful man kind sweet and gentle, a true professional, its a great loss to the Amsterdam social scene he will be greatly missed not just by me but by everybody that knew him im sure.
    Sweet dreams and rest in peace

Leave a Reply

