DORSH REMIXES AMY’S “JUST FRIENDS”


I’m glad to see a message from Dorsh in my inbox: “Cynotoire, you asked when I would drop another track fit for summer, and I think I have one worthy of letting go!” Thanks Dorsh for sharing it with me and now it’s time I pass it along to all of you. Read what Dorsh had to say:

She was an incredible artist known not only for her powerful voice, but also for the pain and heartache she conveyed in her lyrics and her personal life. I can vividly remember being in Manchester, England in late 2006 when I first heard “Just Friends” at a club named Po Na Na (which I think no longer exists). I ended up buying “Back to Black” and it turned out to be one of my favorite soul albums of all-time. I was so devastated last week when I heard that she had died, I immediately grabbed “Back to Black” and started jamming it over and over and over. As I was listening to “Just friends” I realized that it was possible to respond to all the questions she was asking ‘her lover’ in the original, while leaving some room open for interpretation. Please fulljoy this remix I drew up for the ever amazing Amy Winehouse. I hope she’s in a better place and her soul can be free. Bless up!!

Leave a Reply

